GENERAL INFORMATION

NAVARRO COLLEGE AWARDS

Navarro College Piper Professors

Navarro College has had six faculty members recognized for outstanding achievement in the teaching profession with the prestigious Minnie Stevens Piper Professor Award. This award is granted annually from among nominees from all accredited colleges and universities in Texas. The Navarro College Piper Professors are:

Margaret Pannill, English, 1961 Lucile M. Boyd, Languages, 1971 Geraldine Johnston, English, 1978 H. McAfee Daniel, English, 1986 Richard E. Miller, Ph.D., Psychology/Sociology, 1989 Tommy W. Stringer, Ph.D., History, 1994

Navarro College Professor Emeriti

James Chapman, Government H. McAfee Daniel, English Sandra Dowd, Art Sheila Herod, Music, 2009 Dr. Tommy Stringer, History, 2019 Dr. Thomas Vance, Biology, 2023 Mr. Dan Nesmith, History, 2023 Mr. Mark Dillman, Math, 2023 Dr. David Lewis, History, 2023

Navarro College President, Board of Trustees, and Administration Emeriti Dr. Richard Sanchez, District President, 2018 Dr. Kenneth Martin, President of Ellis County Campuses, 2018 Homer Gene Wasson, Navarro College Trustee Chairman, 2019 Dr. Lary Reed, Vice President, 2006

Distinguished Alumni

The Distinguished Alumni Award is the highest honor that Navarro College bestows upon an outstanding alum. The award acknowledges and recognizes the outstanding accomplishments and exemplarily achievements of Navarro College alumni whose personal lives, professional achievements, and community service exemplify the objectives of their alma mater. The award recipients are chosen by the Distinguished Alumni Award Selection Committee consisting of members of the Navarro College Foundation Board of Directors, two Navarro College employees (active or retired) and the Executive Director of the Foundation.

Mr. Ted Spencer, 1958 Mr. Charles Skelton, 1959 Mr. Jack Baggett, 1960 Mr. J.B. Carrington, 1961 Mr. Richard Neil Gay, 1962 Mr. Joe Breithaupt, 1963 Honorable Kenneth Douglas J.D., 1964 Mr. Beverly Ray Henson, 1965 Mr. Billy J. Moore J.D., 1966 Dr. Edna Innerarity Rawlings, 1967 Mrs. Bonnie Binford Langley, 1968 Dr. Wendell Cook D.V.M., 1969 Ms. Betty Jo Bell, 1970 Mr. Ray Hildebrand, 1971 Dr. Derrell Bulls, 1972 Mr. McAfee Daniel, 1973 Mrs. Billie Morris Carroll, 1974 Mr. Euin Frank, 1975 Mr. Grady Donald Rains, 1976 Dr. Robert N. McGehee M.D., 1977 Dr. Donald Robert Fowler M.D., 1978 Mr. J.P. Davis J.D., 1979 Mr. Jim Bob Ivey, 1980 Dr. Lary Reed Éd.D., 1980 Dr. Judy N. Gallin, 1980 Mr. Anthony J. Sadberry J.D., 1980 Mr. Rodney Allbright J.D., 1981 Mr. Kim Wyatt, 1981 Dr. Carlos W. Moore, 1982 Mr. Gary Bennett J.D., 1983 Dr. Ralph Tillman Ferrell, 1984

Mr. Jerry Worsham, 1985 Mr. Bill O' Neal, 1986 Dr. George Barfield D.D.S., 1987 Mr. Michael Heiskell J.D., 1988 Dr. Nedom C. Muns Ed.D., 1989 Mr. Ricky W. Griffin, 1990 Dr. Don C. Green, 1991 Dr. Ronald Deskin M.D., 1992 Mr. Homer Gene Wasson, 1993 Dr. Jane Watson Walker, 1994 Mr. Lowell Thompson J.D., 2022 Dr. Ed W. Childs M.D., 2022 Honorable Byron Cook J.D., 2022 Mr. H.M. Davenport, 2022 Mr. James Einwaechter, 2022 Mr. Terry Fator, 2022 Mrs. Helen Marguerite Reames Gray, 2022 Mr. Rusty Hitt, 2022 Ms. Barbara Kelley, 2022 Mr. Kevin Strength, 2022 Mr. Brent Thompson, 2022 Mr. Chad Walker, 2022 Roy DeFriend, 2023 Elisaveta Dolghih, 2023 Weldon Hafley, 2023 Lloyd Huffman, 2023 John Henry Jenkins, 2023 Aaron Myers, 2023 Daniel Nesmith, 2023 George Solis, 2023 Linda Timmerman, 2023 Dianna Truelove, 2023 Thomas L. Vance, 2023 Ronald D. Watkins, 2023

Gallery of Distinction

The Gallery of Distinction, established in 2022, is the most prestigious honor the College presents to recipients who exemplify and support the history, traditions and legacy of Navarro College and our vision of providing innovative career pathways and student-centered learning opportunities that result in students capable of succeeding in local and global communities. Throughout the years, our honorees have shown Navarro College tremendous commitment both philosophically and philosophically.

Ms. Sue Cook, 2022 Dr. David Campbell, 2023

Navarro College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award associate and baccalaureate degrees. Navarro College also may offer credentials such as certificates and diplomas at approved degree levels. Questions about the accreditation of Navarro College may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC's website (www.sacscoc.org).